• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • gosharehope@gmail.com

Happy Birthday Honey!

Today is my husband’s birthday.  I won’t share how old he is, but he will always be younger than me.We’ve been married for 25 years. If you want to guess from there, go ahead.

I have a friend who was one of the groomsmen in our wedding that said we’ve been married longer then anybody he knows. I thought that was cool.

Anyway, my kids are baking a cake for him.  Amanda, our oldest, is torturing our youngest, Kristin, by taking a nap and making her wait to bake the cake. It’s 5:00 and the party is at 7:00.  Do you think they could cut it any closer?  Oops, out of oil. Forget about the cake.

Back to the man of honor.  Mike is the best.  He is the father of 5 kids and has been able to keep his sense of humor.  There were some times when neither of us were laughing, but on the most part, our kids are great.

He loves to golf, which helps explain why “Caddy Shack” is his favorite movie.  It doesn’t hurt that he used to work on a golf course when he was a teenager.

I understand he’s a pretty good golfer.  For the sake of our marriage, I never went out with him. There are some things a man must do alone.  I know this because he tried to teach me how to play tennis when we were dating.  How did it go? Let’s just say he still golfs.

I do enjoy watching golf with him on TV.  I tease him that I am the only woman in the world that looks at watching golf as a reward.  My dad was a golfer when I was a child, and if I could be quiet, my dad would “let” me watch with him.  It was a great lesson in parenting that I used over and over raising our children.

Mike also likes to fish.  He really enjoys going out on the boat with his dad.  He’ll even take the kids with him for fishing.  Thank goodness he throws the fish back.  Getting me to clean ‘em would not be a pretty site ( that is an entirely different childhood story).

One of the great things about being married so long is that you have history together.  I know his story, he knows mine, and at this point, most of our story is together.  Yet we still keep learning new things about each other.  We keep changing and growing.

It is nice to know that some things will never change.  Mike loves me, and time has proven that he will love me no matter what.  He will always make me laugh.  He can’t help it.  He is a funny guy.  I know I can count on him through thick and thin (believe me, with 5 kids, there’s a lot of thick and thin).

The longer I know him the more I respect him.  It never ceases to amaze me at what a great person he is.  I take him for granted most of the time.  But, it’s nice to have ocassions, like a birthday, to remind us how much someone means to us. And MKB I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!!!

Go $hare HOPE!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

